Mount Beauty & District Men's Shed

2017 Annual General Meeting

Minutes

Held at the Shed at 12:50 pm on Friday 15th September 2017

- 1. **Presidents welcome:** Dick opened the meeting by officially welcoming all present and thanked them for supporting the Shed.
- 2. Attendance: 23
- 3. Apologies: Paul L'Huillier, Rod Hyde, Reg Hollonds, Jordan McNicol.
- 4. Confirmation of 2015 AGM Minutes

Motion: "That the minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting be confirmed". Moved Len Sims Seconded Warwick Mitchell. Carried \checkmark

5. Reports

5.1 **President** Dick summarised another year of activities at the Shed. He mentioned the projects of dust extraction, deer guards, spinning wheel, repairs to furniture, manufacture of knife blocks, the kitchen bench, Shed surrounds, etc. Dick thanked the many members who contributed during the year, in particular Mark & Maureen Hardidge for the work that they put into Footygate and monthly BBQ's. He also mentioned the safety audit and our response, and referred to the Women in the Shed courses that are run by Dick and Irvin.

5.2 **Treasurer** On behalf of Paul (who is overseas) Ian H highlighted a very successful year financially. The position has improved markedly due an operating surplus of around \$14000. The *main sources of income* were: Footy gate raffles, donations, project work completed, garage sales and membership fees. BBQ income covered our costs. *Major expenses* were insurance, telephone & internet, water & sewerage, electricity and workshop supplies. Major projects for the year included the shade sail installation and the installation of the dust extraction system – both funded mainly by grants.

5.3 **Shed Construction Manager** Ian H outlined the work that had been completed over the last 12 months including the Shade Sail, Dust Extraction system, landscaping and garden. Work started on the west side security fence and the next major Shed enhancement will be a verandah on the west side.

Motion: "That the Reports as presented to the meeting be accepted" Moved: Irvin Beeston, Seconded: Shane Clooney Carried ✓

6.0 Membership Fees

Motion: "That the recommendation of the Committee be accepted i.e. that the fees for all membership categories remain the same as in 2016/17 i.e. \$35.00 individual and \$50.00 for community organisations and businesses.

Moved: Ian Howley, Seconded: Campbell Ford Carried.

7. Committee Elections Officers. Warwick Mitchell took the Chair for the Committee elections and declared all positions vacant. He called for nominations for the four officer positions, and then the ordinary member vacancies.

The followed were elected;

President: Dick Puttyfoot (5th year)

Vice President: Reg Hollonds

Secretary: Ian Howley

Treasurer: Paul L'Huillier (6th year)

Ordinary Members: Campbell Ford (5th year)

Mark Hardidge

John Driver

Irvin Beeston

Len Sims

Rod Hyde

President Dick resumed the Chair and thanked Mark H, John D, Graeme C and all who helped with the meal.

Meeting closed at 1-10 pm.